Wednesday, August 10, 2011
What do you think about these quotes about "bad kids today" from thousands of years ago?
WOW! I always thought it was just my generation that was apparently "screwed up". I never thought back much further than the 20th century. These are great, wherever did you find them? So these quotes prove that as each generation pes on and a new one takes place, in general, the newer one usually has it much easier and has much more freedom as technology is developed more and more each year and makes life easier for us. I know I have it much easier nowadays then my parents did, and DEFINITELY more easier then my gran had it when she was 15. I think each older generation always feels a little jealous of the younger generation after it, and are always a little prejudiced about that. They usually over react about these things. I don't think my generation is going to the dogs. We certainly may appear more lazy then the previous generation because we have less things to do then them. Almost every household has a dishwasher and washer and dryer, and we have cars and buses and do not need to walk as often to places. We have better education offered to us and do not need to go to work as young as our parents did, or work as hard. They probably view a job working at Tim Horton's or McDonald's selling food, or stocking shelves at Canadian Tire as easy compared to what they had to do. We probably do act ungrateful compared to what the generations before us had to go through, but so did my parents too I think when they were our age. It bugs me when people say that we are all ungrateful, selfish and lazy and do not care about education. Just today I did the dishwasher and cleaned my room, fed the cat and changed the litter box in the morning without being asked. I am involved in two different sports (figure skating and synchronized skating) which I am involved in for about 12 hours a week. The Canadian Health Industry says that teens should be active for about 3 and a half hours a week. I do almost four times this much, and when I was younger I also played soccer on top of these two sports, and even swimming lessons (although my swimming lessons ended when I was in grade four, soccer in grade six). I have always been involved in sports since I was five years old, and so has my sister. Adults seem to like me and I have many friends and a few close friends. I do not find myself lazy, and I have never been in any trouble, at school or with the law, and I have never done anything to get in trouble. I do not drink regularly (I have sips at thanksgiving, christmas and easter, my parents let me) and I have never had (of any type) or been in a serious relationship. I don't think I'm ungrateful. All the time I find myself thinking about how much easier I have it nowadays. I do not run around acting superior then my previous generation, and I hate when people online generalize me with the bad percentage of my generation. I am not a bad kid. There will always be bad kids in every generation, but honestly, I do not find this generation any worse then the last one. I do not think we will be the downfall of society. I have seen many adults in person (60+ included!) who are much worse behaved then I am and do walk around with the attitude that since they are older than me they do not need to treat me with manners and as a person equal to them. Me and my family and my friend were in Disney land this summer, watching the fireworks at Epcot, and there was no one on a nearby bench, so me and my friend walked over to stand on it so we could see the fireworks. An elderly lady who must of been about 55-60 years old walked up to me and muttered "s'cuse me" without looking at me. Thinking she must have left something on the bench, I said "sorry" and stepped down. Then she stood up and took my place. Then her friend stepped up on the bench between her and my friend and edged towards the end, shoving my friend off without saying anything. My friend gave me a wierd look and stepped off. We gave up the bench and walked away to my older sister, her boyfriend and my parents. I told them about the ladies and they agreed that that was very rude and my older sister told my friend that she should of stood her ground on the bench. According to everyone the previous generations should be much better behaved then us, so why do they treat us (or at least my generation) like dirt? If those ladies had wanted to sit down on the bench and asked us instead of shoving us off the bench, we would of stepped down, no problem, but they weren't even using the bench to sit on, and they were both taller then us! I'm sorry, but I was brought up to understand this behavior as being rude. I think you are right, every generation over reacts about the one after it. Then again, you can't really believe me. I'm just another one of those "bad kid's from nowadays".
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment